Illinois State University provides tuition waiver benefits to Faculty, Staff and Retirees of the University, and employees of other institutions or agencies with reciprocal agreements through the State Universities Civil Service System. Illinois State University provides tuition waiver benefits to the dependents of employees of Illinois public universities . Tuition waivers are granted and taxed in accordance with state and federal law and University Policy.
A. Faculty, Staff and Retired ISU Employee Tuition Waiver(s)
Attendance at Illinois State University
Employees and retirees of Illinois State University who have met the required prerequisites and admissions standards may receive a tuition waiver when enrolled for undergraduate and graduate credit at Illinois State University.
The tuition waiver granted in any semester shall be subject to the following limitations:
- The maximum tuition waiver is subject to the employees' full-time equivalency status as set out below.
Employee's Full-Time Equivalency Status and Maximum Tuition Waiver
- Retirees - 8 credit hours
- 100 FTE (full-time equivalency) - 8 credit hours
- .99 FTE - .75 FTE - 6 credit hours
- .74 FTE - .50 FTE - 4 credit hours
- Employees must be employed at least .50 FTE status on the tenth day of classes in the fall and/or spring semesters in order to receive a waiver for that semester.
- Employees must be employed during the spring semester prior to the summer session in order to receive a waiver for that summer. For employees not working full-time during the summer, the waiver maximum is determined by the employee's full-time equivalency status during the summer or the preceding spring semester, whichever term provides the highest tuition waiver. Employees are not eligible for the waiver if their employment is terminated prior to the end of the preceding spring semester.
- The faculty, staff or retiree is responsible for paying the difference for any tuition costs in excess of the maximum waiver eligibility based on his or her employment equivalency status as listed above. Materials charges and other fees directly related to a particular course will not be waived.
- Faculty holding the rank of assistant professor or higher may take graduate courses, but may not be admitted to or enrolled in a program leading to a graduate degree in the same program area or department in which they instruct.
- Any employee who wishes to enroll in classes during regularly scheduled work hours must complete the form "Request to Take Courses During Working Hours." Supervisory approval is required for the request. The Supervisor's decision to grant such approval will be based on the operational needs of the Department or Unit.
B. Dependent Tuition Waiver(s)
Dependents of eligible faculty and staff who meet the requirements outlined below are eligible for a 50 percent tuition waiver for undergraduate education at any Illinois public university. Dependents of retirees of Illinois State University are eligible for a 50 percent tuition waiver for undergraduate education only at Illinois State University if they meet all of the requirements listed below. The tuition waiver application form is located at hr.illinoisstate.edu under forms.
Dependent Tuition Waiver Requirements
The faculty or staff person must meet all of the following:
- Be a current employee in an active status as of the first day of the applicable academic term. Active status includes employees on approved leaves of absence but not those on permanent layoff status. Changes in status after the academic term begins will affect the current academic term;
- Be employed in a SURS eligible appointment.
- Have been employed at a qualifying public university (including ISU and other Illinois public universities) for at least 7 aggregate years of at least .50 FTE by the first day of the academic term in which you would like to use the waiver.
- The years do not need to be consecutive.
- The service must be in a SURS eligible appointment.
- Employment records of two employee parents cannot be combined to meet the 7 year employment requirement.
- Service may count as a full calendar year of employment whenever it could result in a full year's credit in the State Universities Retirement System.
- If you were employed prior to January 1, 1999 and the employment has been consecutive you only need an aggregate of 3 years of full-time service.
The student must:
- Be the biological child, stepchild, or adopted child of an eligible employee or the child of the eligible employee's registered domestic partner;
- Be under age 25 at the beginning of the fall semester (defined as the of the first day of instruction) in which the waiver will be effective;
- Meet admissions eligibility requirements and maintain satisfactory academic progress.
Dependent Waiver Restrictions:
The following restrictions apply to a dependent waiver.
- The waiver may not be used for any noncredit or graduate programs;
- The waiver may only apply to a maximum of 126 hours of undergraduate study at Illinois State University regardless of whether the student is enrolled as a full-time or part-time student;
- The waiver does not include fees and charges other than tuition; and
- The 50 percent tuition waiver is the maximum amount available from the employer per child even if both parents may be employees of an Illinois public university
C. Survivors of Deceased Employees Tuition Waiver - Attendance at Illinois State University
The surviving spouse, registered domestic partner and the legally dependent child(ren) of any employee who dies while in a full-time employment status at Illinois State University shall be entitled to a tuition waiver while enrolled in undergraduate courses creditable to the baccalaureate degree, provided the individual meets the requirements outlined below. Should both parents be full-time employees, the death of one parent makes the child or children eligible for the waiver. There is no time limit or age limit on this benefit, as long as the individual is a dependent at the time of the employee's death.
- Legally dependent child or children" include any child who qualified, at the time of the employee's death, as a dependent for income tax exemption purposes under the provisions of Section 152 of the Internal Revenue Code of the United States. Natural or adopted children of a registered domestic partner or civil union partner will be considered as step children of the employee for the purposes of this program;
- The student must meet admissions eligibility requirements and maintain satisfactory academic progress;
The following restrictions apply to a decedent waiver.
- The waiver may not be used for any noncredit or graduate programs;
- The waiver of tuition may be applied to a maximum of 126 hours of undergraduate study at Illinois State University regardless of whether the student is enrolled as a full-time or part-time student;
- Fees and charges other than tuition are not included in the tuition waiver.
The tuition waiver application forms are located at https://hr.illinoisstate.edu/forms
- Illinois Public Universities
- Chicago State University
- Eastern Illinois University
- Governors State University
- Illinois State University
- Northeastern Illinois University
- Northern Illinois University
- Southern Illinois University (Carbondale, School of Medicine Springfield, Edwardsville)
- University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign, Chicago, Springfield)
- Western Illinois University
- Illinois Board of Higher Education
- Illinois Community College Board
- Illinois Student Assistance Commission
- State Universities Retirement System
- State Universities Civil Service System